Melissa and Morgan

Age: 30-45

Member since February 2017

We're on a six month road trip exploring the country in our truck camper

Expired Guest

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

My name is Melissa. I'm originally from Southern California, but have been living in Philly for the past few years. I just finished grad school and am now a newly minted nurse practitioner and midwife. My fiance, Morgan, is originally from Houston, TX, and has also been living in Philly for the past few years. He's a biomedical engineer.
After I finished school, we knew we wanted to relocate to the west coast, and decided to make the trip of a lifetime out of it! We've been on the road since March, exploring the country for six months until we (hopefully) settle down in Southwest Oregon.

Skills & Expertise to Share

I (Melissa) consider myself a pretty decent cook, and can whip up quite a few different types of cuisine (pad thai is one of my favorites, if I can get my hands on all the ingredients). I'm also a nurse, so that's always helpful.
Morgan is pretty handy (don't tell him I said that. Don't want his head to get too big. haha) and.. can design knee replacement pieces? Not as readily useful in a camper setting.

Favorite Boondocking Locations

We usually camp in National Forests / BLM land and sometimes with people from Harvest Hosts. Our favorite has been an secluded little site by the river in Nantahala National Forest. Our favorite Harvest Hosts has been Vista Ranch and Cellars in Merced, CA. We ended up there on one of their nights with wood-fired pizza and live music!

Melissa and Morgan's Hometown

I'm from Southern California (just south of LA) and he's from Houston, Texas. Philly has been home for the past 4+ years.

Melissa and Morgan's Guest Details

Melissa and Morgan's Rig

We have a 1995 Lance Squire 8000 truck camper. Truck and all, we're about 23 ft long and stand a little over 12 ft high. We're fully self-contained and have a solar panel to keep the batteries topped off (but always appreciate a plug in when offered.)