Age: 65+

Member since January 2017

I'm a recently-widowed, semi-retired marriage and family therapist, age 74, aiming to write, speak professionally and teach as I go about the country with my little dog (8 lbs), Pi, a Maltipoo.

Active Guest

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

My life has been full, challenging, and interesting. I grew up in a Military family, living in various states in the US, and Germany and France. It stimulated my life-long love of travel and adventure. I lived a lot on the East Coast (Virginia), attended the College of William and Mary. I married young, graduated from the University of Washington in Seattle, and obtained my Master's Degree from the University of California in Berkeley. Since 1972, I've worked as a privately-practicing Marriage and Family Therapist in the S.F. Bay Area of California. I've recently been widowed. I'm planning to spend a few years living simply and seeing this beautiful continent!

I've always loved the out of doors, spent summers on my grandparent's farm in South Georgia (picking cotton, putting in tobacco, fishing, canning tomatoes, and stacking peanuts). I'm driving a Class B RV, traveling with my little Maltipoo dog, Pi.

I'm looking forward to boondocking. It will give me the opportunity for the simplicity and quiet I both need and deserve (!) to write and connect with my deeper self.

Skills & Expertise to Share

My skills are those of relating: communication skills, emotional mastery skills, conflict resolution skills, etc. I also am a good cook, write (and type really fast--@120 wpm), garden (which, sadly, I can't do as I RV), love animals, etc. My best skills are somewhat hidden: they are the skills involved in staying emotionally balanced, regardless of what is happening in the external world.

Favorite Boondocking Locations

I don't have any favorites, yet! I love mountain lakes, creeks and rivers, and grassy spots!

idillon's Hometown

At this point I don't have a home town--in fact, as a military "brat," I never have. For the past 20 years I have lived in a small town in Northern California, El Sobrante. Before that, I lived 28 years in a lovely location in Marin County (above San Francisco). Prior to that, I lived on a houseboat in Seattle!

idillon's Guest Details

idillon's Rig

I'm purchasing a 2017 Leisure Van, a 25 foot Class B van with a Murphy Bed that folds into one wall. This wall is the only slideout. It's built on a Mercedes chassis. The major challenge of this van is that it's built close to the ground.

idillon's References (4)

References from Hosts (4)


October 2017

Wonderful guest to have

We loved to have Ilene as a guest. Took her on a tour of the island. Had great tralks together. Hope she comes back.


September 2017

Lovely Lady

We had a wonderful time hosting idillon and the precious little dog for a couple of nights. We were gifted with her knowledge and wisdom and truly enjoyed our engaging conversations. We hope to meet up again someday.


September 2017

Open invitation

Idillon is wonderful and has an open invitation to stay anytime she wishes.

Deb and Marty Thibault

September 2017

Great Guests!

Idillon were great guests. They stayed 2 nights and never heard the pup once. We had great conversation with her. She gives pause for thought about our emotions and our connection to the universe. Her insight and willingness to share it was a blessing that I would not have pedicted to find in a boondocker. We have received much more from sharing our space with complete strangers than I ever would have guessed. Having said all that, we would welcome both or them to stay on our property anytime!