sculpturegrl

Age: 55-65

Member since January 2017

Turned 60, sold the sticks and bricks and am now free to roam and work part time!

Active Guest

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

I turned 60 November 2016 and bought my first RV, a 1998 Tiffin Allegro Diesel Pusher, after selling my sticks and bricks. Time for an update! Bought my rig and sold the house in late 2016. I’d been living in the gorgeous Western North Carolina Mountains, near Asheville, for over 20 years. Loved my time there, but from Minnesota originally and wanted to be able to see my son and daughter in law more often. I am semi retired. I was a hair stylist for 20 years - had a salon in Edina, MN, then taught myself silver smithing - fabrication. I am semi retired, so I built a studio bench while renovating my 37 foot Tiffin Allegro Pusher. Used to do a lot of Art Shows, now I sell mostly to galleries. The first winter, after renovations, I traveled and stayed in state parks in eastern Florida, then onto state parks in MN for part of the summer. All of them were wonderful! It’s a bit pricey on an Artist’s part time income, so I decided to try some work camping. I spent last summer, on a friend’s exotic bird farm in Illinois, near Bloomington/Normal, taking care of her birds and mowing the 3 acres with a zero turn mower, and pulling a LOT of weeds. LOL! While I had my sticks and bricks, I made my little quarter acre into a mini homestead. I had 8 raised bed organic gardens for annuals, a water catchment system, and a greenhouse. Put in raspberries, blackberries, blueberries and Rosa Rugosa. Also had a fig tree, a Myer Lemon tree, and a couple of fruit cocktail tress that my son gifted me - lot’s of flowers too, of course! I raised Sebastpol Geese (on the watch list), Silver Appleyard ducks (also on the watch list), and chickens. The woman who owns the farm in Illinois was a Facebook friend, who raised the same geese I did, and I just stopped there on the way to MN to meet her. That’s when the “work camp” idea came up. We fell in love (not literally, just really hit it off) and she invited me back after my MN trip to care for her 3 acre farm. She doesn’t live on it, she lives a mile away. Her husband is an electrician, so he put in 50 amp for me, the day I arrived. It was a great summer, though a bit WINDY! ;-) For the winter of 2018, I was invited to stay on an adjacent lot of another artist friend, that I only knew through Facebook. What a lovely woman she is! So in return for staying - again, I paid for my 50 amp service (she’s an RV’r also, so already had 50 amp available), and did yard work on her three adjacent properties. Nice to travel, but also nice to be stationary at times, so that I can get work done. So I’ve had just shy of 2 years experience, full time in my RV. Haven’t stayed with anyone on Bondockers Welcome yet, but hope to soon. In the interim, my son and daughter in law, just bought 21 acres in Hastings MN, where they plan to build, so I am boondocked on their property currently, but really hate using the generator and don’t yet have solar, I’m about to head south again, and this time I’ll be work camping on a Permaculture Farm near Pensacola. It’s a long drive and it would be nice to stop a few places on the way, and meet some new people (that’s been my favorite part of this new life). Also to be able to have some electricity once in a while, just to charge up the electronics and such, since I do use the computer for work - to upload images, and to be able to fill up with some water. I will OF COURSE be stopping on the farm in Illinois briefly, just to see Frieda and the geese! Both of the women I work camped for will be happy to share their experience with having me as a guest. They offered this, I didn’t ask. Hope to meet some of you soon as I meander down the road to Florida!

Skills & Expertise to Share

I'm a do-it-yourselfer and can figure most things out, non electrical, although I did change out 99% pf the lights in the rig to LED, not a difficult job. I have a good eye for aesthetics, good gardening knowledge, and understand the PSI necessary for getting water to your gardens. Oh, I can also give you a hair cut. ;-)

sculpturegrl's Pets

No

Favorite Boondocking Locations

Hope to find some favorites soon!

sculpturegrl's Hometown

Born in Austin, MN, but was a military kid. My dad was in the Air Force. I guess that's where the travel bug came in! I raised my son in Minneapolis, then spent 20 years in Beautiful Western North Carolina, near Asheville. Now, full time in my Motor Coach.

Memberships

RVillage Member
Escapees Member
FMCA Member

sculpturegrl's Guest Details

sculpturegrl's Rig

Rig Type: Class A

37 feet long

37 foot 1998 Tiffin Allegro diesel pusher.

sculpturegrl's Travel Preferences

  • Has a tow vehicle
  • Prefers an electric hookup