scottj

Age: 45-55

Member since September 2016

Quiet, respectful, inquisitive, always learning, like people alot, love animals.

Active Guest

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

Took an early retirement. Previously software/ecommerce (Fortune 500) company executive. Spent most of my adult career managing people and processes. I volunteered previously at the Oregon Humane Society. Also spent many years as a neighborhood and community organizer. In leadership position at my local Methodist Church (we are building affordable housing on a vacant portion of our property) as well as my Methodist district leadership team. Progressive in my theological views. I have strong religious views but have no intention of pushing those on others. I don't believe we all have to agree on things. Diverse ideas and opinions are part of what makes life interesting. And is the main reason why I enjoy travel -- to learn about others.
I enjoy trying new experiences, foods (love ethnic foods), and learning about various cultures and traditions. I was taught to be curious about others not to be afraid of them. I'm both introverted and extroverted at different times.

Skills & Expertise to Share

I know a little bit about a lot of things. But don't know a lot about much of anything :-)
I'm a pretty good cook and do ok with a grill. Exceptional computer skills and mostly mad organizational & systems skills.

scottj's Pets

3-year-old boxer neutered male sometimes travels with me.

Favorite Boondocking Locations

Love the more rural areas. When traveling I try and stay off the interstate so I can see more of the countryside and connect with more of the locals.I'm all about local food traditions and local seasonal foods.

scottj's Hometown

Woodburn OR, Portland OR, Vernon, AZ

Memberships

RVillage Member
Escapees Member

scottj's Guest Details

scottj's Rig

Rig Type: Class A

35 feet long

1966 vintage MCI 35' diesel bus conversion in excellent condition inside and out. All RV/coach systems have been updated regularly. A full rebuild was done in 2013.I sometimes travel with a bike, scooter or car.

scottj's Travel Preferences

  • Travels with pets