kmcompton1

Age: 30-45

Member since July 2016

Enjoying each moment life has to offer; seeing new places, and meeting new people.

Expired Guest

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

My husband Charlie and I are excited for the opportunity to see new places, meet new people and experience new cultures. We are in our early 30s and have enjoyed seeing much of the eastern part of the United States and much of Central America. Aside from our wanderlust, we enjoy playing music, making soap, cooking together, and traveling to far away places in our tiny Class B camper van. We enjoy working hard and playing hard, as I am a licensed Cosmetologist, provisional Real Estate Broker and virtual transaction coordinator for a firm and Charlie has been a service manager for a very large equipment rental company for 13 years.

We had been homeowners for 5 years, when one day there was a knock at our door from a man who asked us if we would sell our house to him. And actually we did! We began a journey of downsizing our possessions and considering what a smaller standard of living could offer us in terms of freeing up time to travel.
That brings us to current day and we couldn't be happier with the new adventure life is taking us on. We work less, enjoy time with each other and our little old man, Diesel, a mini schnauzer/poodle mix. We have time to write more music, watch more sunsets and cook healthier.
See more pictures on our Instagram

https://www.instagram.com/van_life_together/
http://vanlifetogether.weebly.com/

Skills & Expertise to Share

Charlie has been a (darn good) diesel mechanic for 14 years and ran a rental company's service department for many years as well. He can fix ANYTHING! He can weld, wire, do hydraulics and a million other things that are totally beyond my mental capacity.
I do hair. LOL! Everybody needs that too, I guess.
We are quite and respectful of space and privacy, but always have the guitar tuned up for a campfire jam.

kmcompton1's Hometown

Raleigh, North Carolina

kmcompton1's Guest Details

kmcompton1's Rig

1989 Dodge Fiesta - 19' Class B campervan We travel extremely light. We have all amenities on board including hot water shower, propane cooking etc. We use shore power some and solar when able. We took 6 months to fully renovate the interior and overhauled almost every nook and cranny of the engine and running gear. No leaks on this ole girl. See the remodel on our Instagram page Link above

kmcompton1's References (2)

References from Hosts (2)

CaptainPeppers

January 2017

Great Times

It was amazing hanging out with the both of you. Such interesting and fun stories. I always love meeting other young people out exploring the world. We hope you come back and visit super soon! Thanks for all the motivation and advice to help get us out on the road here in the near future.
Ciao


LaurieA

October 2016

We love these guests.

We enjoyed hosting these 2 guests. I even invited them to stay extra nights and to come back again. If you are lucky enough they will put on a little concert with excellent guitar playing and vocals. We hope to see these guests again sometime in the future. To them, happy paddling!