Age: None

Member since May 2016

Retired Outpost Nurse/Dog Rescuer

Expired Guest

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

Born and raised in Toronto, ON. Began Nursing 1980 and Outpost Nursing 1982. Traveled extensively with work in northern Canada and served as nurse-missionary for a time in Nigeria. Have lived in Yukon since 2002 and in Ross River since 2004 where practised at the local health centre. Retired this spring.

Have had as many as twelve rescued dogs at one time, now allowing numbers to drop by attrition. Looking to re-home 2 of remaining four before starting my own RV adventures in fall 2016.

First time beekeeper with two hives on property: willing to "show and tell" with any calm and easy-going person who may be interested. (Spare protective hood and jacket on hand.)

Starting beeswax candle-making - presently with Alberta beeswax. Hope, eventually, to use Yukon-sourced beeswax.

Like to go for walks with my K-9 kids along trails outside of town, "outside" of porcupine hours. Willing to include guests and/or show them where to gain the trails themselves. (There is also the Dena Cho Trail that runs between Ross River and Faro for anyone who is interested.)


Skills & Expertise to Share

Pulling porcupine quills from dogs

Favorite Boondocking Locations


fidohouse's Hometown

Toronto, Ontario, CANADA

fidohouse's Guest Details

fidohouse's Rig

1991 Leisure Coach "Oakland" (1990 Ford E-350) 28 foot Class C. Pre-dates the notion of slide-outs. Purchased this spring with 104,000 KMS on it. In lovely condition. Was designed as a four-season rig - with R20 insulation in the floor and R12 in the walls. Has an awning (black and white racing check, no less!) I will be traveling with a cat (Callie, age 12 yrs) and two dogs: Pang (11+ years old); and her daughter, Fluffy Muffin (10+ years old).