peduke

Age: 65+

Member since April 2016

Married, retired, want to see more of North America on a short budget.

Expired Guest

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

I worked in delivery of one kind and another for most of my working life. My wife Cathy has been a teacher and a nurse. We have been married 45 years and have three sons. One of them lives in our home province of Alberta and collects our mail for us. The others are in Toronto and South Texas. We also have siblings and extended family in various parts of Canada and the U.S. Most of our grandchildren are in Alberta. We have been living full-time in our fifth wheel since June, 2013.
I have become disabled due to an illness last year that has affected my mobility and my vision. I have always been very hard of hearing. Cathy now does all the driving but I am becoming increasingly capable of a share of the chores that accompany full-time RV living.
We have been living on a very restricted budget and limited travel, but have taken this life crisis as a sign. Now is the time to get out there and see all those people and sights that we were always afraid to spend the money on. Cathy and I have very different tastes, interests and "must see" lists, so our experiences are doubled as we each check off items on our bucket list. Our goal this year is to travel across Canada from Vancouver Island to Halifax, NS with stops to visit with family and friends along the way. From there we will head South in late October or early November to travel through the northeastern states where many of my wife's family reside, then find our way back to South Texas by Christmas.

Skills & Expertise to Share

My wife cooks and sews. Her favourite thing to make is baby quilts, and no two meals are ever the same around here, though all are edible and most are good! I am somewhat restricted, but I do love to sit and visit.

Favorite Boondocking Locations

We have spent two an a half winters on the desert in Arizona, and some time in South Texas, though we did very little boondocking in Texas. We are open to new locations and eager for new experiences.

peduke's Hometown

We have no permanent location, as home is where we park it. Our mail, however, goes to Crossfield, a small bedroom community North of Calgary, Alberta.

peduke's Guest Details

peduke's Rig

2004 Thor Jazz 5th wheel with one slide pulled by a 2007 Chev Silverado 2500HD with a Duramax.