Introducing our new new Host Rewards Program! Read more here.

HIS_Travelers

Age: 45-55

Member since June 2021

Homesteading Homeschoolers traveling when we can get away from our busy lives.

Active Guest

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

Husband and wife with 4 daughters, preschool through high school. Dad is a public high school automotive instructor. Mom has homeschooled 12 years and has led a homeschool concert band for the last 8 years teaching kids how to play wind and percussion instruments. We're active in our church, our neighborhood, and with activities like 4-H Shooting Sports and FFA.

We have a small half acre Homestead with small livestock, honey bees, dogs, cats, and a large garden that we preserve the produce from. (We travel without animals because we have amazing neighbors who watch over our Homestead in our absence!)

Our kiddos are very respectful and we are frequently told what great kids they are. (We're a little biased, but we agree...most of the time! 😂)

We enjoy the great outdoors and have recently been blessed with the opportunity to buy our first motorhome. It's a 2001 37' Class A we affectionately call "Big Bertha".

We appreciate the opportunity to meet interesting people and learn from them as we travel over the summer and hopefully some long weekends throughout the school year.

We are pretty self-sufficient and will try not to impose on our hosts. You can count on us to respect your privacy and house rules.

Skills & Expertise to Share

Homeschooling, homesteading, canning, and playing wind instruments.

HIS_Travelers's Pets

No pets travel with us, but at home we have dogs and cats and livestock on our homestead that includes chickens, ducks, rabbits, and honey bees (if you can count them as pets).

Favorite Boondocking Locations

There is a place near the Appalachian Trail close to where we live where we enjoy boondocking in National Forest lands.

Looking forward to building a portfolio of boondocking places (and acquaintances and friends) through this community!

HIS_Travelers's Hometown

Weaverville, NC

HIS_Travelers's Guest Details

HIS_Travelers's Rig

Rig Type: Class A

37 feet long

37' long, 12' high, 8.3' wide Class A Holiday Rambler Motorhome with a bicycle rack on the back making the total length approximately 40'. 2 slides, one on each side. Totally self contained with a generator.

HIS_Travelers's Travel Preferences

  • Travels with kids, ages: 17, 14, 10, 3 (all girls)
  • Has slideouts
  • Needs to run a generator

HIS_Travelers's References (3)

References from Hosts (3)

Hvskers

June 2021

Respectful Family

We had a wonderful visit with these boondockers. They kept us updated on their arrival time and we hardly knew they were in our driveway. We enjoyed chatting with them and highly recommend these travelers. They are welcome back any time they are in the area.


MissouriBirds

June 2021

Like Family

We totally enjoyed having HIS_travelors and their entire family as our guests for two nights! We felt like we had known them for years within a few minutes---and we had gained a whole new set of wonderful, respectful and well-behaved grandchildren. My refrigerator even sports a really special handmade "thank-you" card given to us from the kids when they left this morning.

We look forward to on-going conversations for a long time as we follow this great young family on their planned road-trip across America. To all future hosts----you are in for a real treat when you host this great family.


Aimlesswanderers

June 2021

What a great family.

This family is the reason you join boondocker welcome as a host. Sent us plenty of updates the day of their arrival. Great conversation before they had to leave the next day. Our golden retriever loved the kids. We wish them safe travels and hope we get to see them again someday. We were there first boondocker welcome stay so jokingly I said we would take a chance on them to come on in. It could not have been better.