j9rood

Age: 55-65

Member since June 2021

Bicycling RV nomads!

Active Guest

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

Mike and Janine (along with our 2 indoor cats) are testing out the RV nomad lifestyle, after years of being part-time campers and full-time employees. We prefer to avoid crowded RV Parks and have authentic experiences with members of the communities we visit. We are fit and athletic retirees (age 68 and 62 in 2021) who love to bicycle, hike, kayak and fish. We're super-excited to be a part of Boondockers Welcome!

Skills & Expertise to Share

Janine has been a writer, marketer and bicycle advocate by profession. Mike was an engineer and a professional bicycle mechanic. Both are experienced bike riders/racers. Mike is an experienced RV owner.

j9rood's Pets

Yes, we have two shy female indoor cats, Jeri and Squeaky, who prefer to experience new places through a window!

Favorite Boondocking Locations

We're still pretty new to true boondocking. Ask us again in 6 months!

j9rood's Hometown

We have called Chico, a smallish city in northern CA, home for the last 25 or so years. From August 2019 to June 2021, we lived in western NY helping Janine's parents stay in their home. Now we are free to move about the country! But we still think of Chico as 'home base'.

j9rood's Guest Details

j9rood's Rig

Rig Type: Travel Trailer

25 feet long

Our 2019 Rockwood Roo, "Kanga" is a 22 ft hybrid Travel Trailer (about 25 ft with the bed ends out)! Our towing vehicle is Mike's pride and joy, a 2018 Ford F150, about 18 ft long We call it "Captain"

j9rood's Travel Preferences

  • Has a tow vehicle
  • Travels with pets
  • Has slideouts

j9rood's References (2)

References from Hosts (2)

Jay_Cathy

June 2021

Wish we could have met

We were out of town and we’re not able to meet but we certainly hope j9rood will travel thru our area again in the future. They were great to communicate with and let us know when they arrived and again when they left. Next time we hope to have better weather for their stay.


lwood

June 2021

Friendly

Great communication and charming personalities. Would gladly host again!