Longshot49

Age: 65+

Member since December 2015

Peripatetic Pantologist traveling, fixing, making, enjoying

Active Guest

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

Retired from several decades of engineering, technology, management positions and now traveling and enjoying this beautiful country and the people who make it one of the greatest places in the world.

Skills & Expertise to Share

I did all the work of planning, designing, fabricating and installing the facilities in the Nissan NV3500. Using a combination of computer modeling and prototyping, the vehicle design includes everything needed for unsupported stays of over two weeks. My background in Electrical/Mechanical/Automotive engineering, automation, automotive/motorcycle restoration, and general mechanical abilities combined with the tools and equipment I carry lets me keep my rig in top shape as well as help others.

Favorite Boondocking Locations

I like the desert and the mountains, but just about anywhere other than big cities is good.

Longshot49's Hometown

I was born in Ohio, but have lived in many states and several countries. Current residence is in the SF Bay area, but soon to be completely mobile.

Longshot49's Guest Details

Longshot49's Rig

My rig is a combination of a 2006 30' Keystone Cougar trailer and a 20' Nissan NV3500 high-roof that I converted into a small home on wheels. The Nissan is outfitted with complete amenities and allows me to stay for over two weeks completely unsupported. The trailer is a bunkhouse model with a superslide, but the bunkhouse has been converted into a storage/workshop area. I tow the trailer from area to area and then explore using the Nissan and an electric bike. I enjoy making and fixing....sounds odd, but I carry tools and equipment to let me continue my lifelong passion of designing, fabricating, implementing.... basically, getting my hands dirty/greasy.