youroldpaldan

Age: 45-55

Member since December 2015

Friendly, introverted, talkative explorer with a German Shepherd puppy and wanderlust.

Active Guest

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

I'm semi-retired and travelling with a German Shepherd that is (slowly) being trained for scent work. Before I go back to work by starting a business that will be using the dog, I am travelling around to see all of the places I never got to see before we return to the Pacific North Wet.

I have a 24 foot long trailer, and I am very good at backing it up. I am not afraid of tight places or tricky maneuvering. I drive 55 mph most of the time, I like to enjoy the trip as much as the destination. I carry tire chains for the truck and trailer and know how to use them. I don't consider myself rugged, just prepared. I like to have a couple or a few drinks some nights, occasionally smoke a pipe, and never set an alarm clock for the morning. I'm an amateur radio operator, I love good movies, and I like to look at the night sky.

You don't have to be available to chat or check on me if you are running to the store or anything like that at all. I do appreciate some conversation, some advice, some destinations I shouldn't miss, but you are not obligated in any way to entertain me or help me, as I like to do things on my own.

Chasqui (cha-SKI), my dog, would like to know if there is a dog park nearby or someplace she can roam off leash. She is a lot like me, she likes to roam, but we do stay pretty close to each other. If you know where any of these places are nearby, we'd very much appreciate it.

Skills & Expertise to Share

I have a strong back and a willingness to help. SOme minor computer problems can be straightened out, and I also like teaching people about technology that actually makes their lives easier or better.

Favorite Boondocking Locations

Quiet places. Occasional trains are ok, but away from highway noise is good. Even better is out in a rural area away from the city and it's problems. If you can see a millions stars, I would really like to visit your place.

youroldpaldan's Hometown

I was born and raised in San Diego, moved as an adult to the Portland OR area. Now, I believe I'm nowhere, but now here.

youroldpaldan's Guest Details

youroldpaldan's Rig

I have a '14 Dodge Ram pickup quad cab and a 2015 Outdoors RV 24 ft travel trailer that I live in full time. No slideouts or anything tricky.