Age: 30-45

Member since November 2015

We are a young couple who started our first time full-time RVing adventure a few months ago back in Taos NM, and who would appreciate any help and insight about this lifestyle during our travels.

Expired Guest

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

Hello !

Our names are Sophie and Darin. I am a 40 year old swiss/french woman that have been living in the USA for 15 years and Darin, 28, is from Olathe KS. We met in Taos NM, and that is where our adventure started with Lucy, our motorhome. Along with our dog Meekaw and cat Mozart, we have so far driven over 3000 miles, through NM, AZ, NV, CA, WA and OR.
We are now looking for a warmer location and work opportunities in order to continue our journey back to Taos in the spring.

We are both very friendly and respectful. We would really appreciate any help that would allow us to diminish our expenses while on the road, as well as sharing stories, tips about rv living and maybe a glass of wine? We feel boon docking would be of great help to us and would also be open to trades ( yard work, cleaning, cooking, gardening...)We are also looking to broaden our horizons and makes friends along the way.
This is a very big transition for us and we have already realized that this lifestyle entails much more than what was expected ! We feel we need a little help, like a support system to get passed our fears and doubts.

We both enjoy discovering new places, people and ways to attain a more sustainable living. For the last 2 years, we have worked on downsizing our belongings and the space we live in. Our dream is to someday acquire our own off-the-grid home.

Skills & Expertise to Share

Darin is great with animals and children, yard work, house cleaning and color pencils!
Sophie 's passion is photography, she has her own camera equipment and a lap top and has freelanced for music festivals, businesses websites, family portraits and a few weddings. She can cook, clean, garden, and has a great eye for interior design and collecting (especially vintage). She can also organize and run very successful yardsales as she is great at customer service!
We could both baby sit, dog/cat sit and house sit, and have basic computer skills. We both worked for food in an organic NM farm last summer.

Favorite Boondocking Locations

Any place that will allow us to be warm or at least not too cold ! Love any places with mountains, hiking, fishing and the ocean.

ansolen's Hometown

Sophie is from Burgundy, France and was raised in Geneva Switzerland.After finishing her hospitality management studies she moved permanently to the USA, first in the Washington DC area and worked in mid-management for the Ritz Carlton Hotel Co for about 5 years, and then moved to Taos NM to experience a more rural lifestyle, experiencing working in a lodge in a ski resort, growing vegetables year round in a green house,helping the local thrift store, and take caring of sustainable rentals in the largest earthship community there is! Darin is from Olathe Kansas, and started travelling throughout the west coast at a young age. He likes to experience different styles of work,could it be has a dog sitter, or working on a fishing boat in the L.A Harbour!

ansolen's Guest Details

ansolen's Rig

Our Rig Lucy is a 1973 GMC classic motorhome class A. She is 26 feet long. We have a solar panel that allows LED lighting and cell phone charging. We don't have any slide-outs.