Introducing our new new Host Rewards Program! Read more here.

melody1

Age: 45-55

Member since April 2021

Family of 4, just exploring our part of the world

Active Guest

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

Family of four, just purchased our first camper. We are still learning the ropes, so are always interested in tips and input if we look like we're struggling.
Husband travels for work, and his family wants to join him when we can. We are also a homeschool family, and want to do some road schooling! We intend to keep our adventures relatively close to home for the first year, but are ready to see where the wind takes us!

Skills & Expertise to Share

Wife loves gardening and house plants. Will often have plants to trade starts of, so feel free to ask!
Also has pretty impressive knowledge on plants and nature in general.
Loves sewing and fiber arts, and the odds are high that she has her spinning wheel in the camper.
The older child *loves* military and can talk about WWII until you cry uncle.
The younger child loves animals and has a special bond with cats. They just gravitate towards him.
Husband loves football and pop culture. Hes pretty great at movie and sports trivia. He has a passion for playing guitar, and sound mastering.

melody1's Pets

Two sweet dogs:
Bodhi is 5 and is a Boston Terrier.
Kitty is 8 and is a spunky little mutt that I rescued off the side of 95, near Richmond VA.
Both are very dog friendly, and love belly rubs from all human friends.
While Kitty and Bodhi travel great, they won't always be on every trip.
The whole family is very pet friendly, and is comfortable helping with friendly animals if needed. (Feed, water, muck a stall or two)

Favorite Boondocking Locations

We are still learning, and haven't had a chance to create any favorites yet.

melody1's Hometown

We hail from Front Royal, Va. Husband grew up in the Shenandoah Valley, attended Goriga Tech, and spent time living in Atlanta, and then Myrtle Beach, North Carolina. Wife grew up in Northern California and Nashville, Tennessee. Settled in Virginia after a cross country road trip right out of high school, and never looked back.

melody1's Guest Details

melody1's Rig

Rig Type: Travel Trailer

33 feet long

33ft travel trailer, 1 slide Ford F250, long bed

melody1's Travel Preferences

  • Has a tow vehicle
  • Travels with pets
  • Travels with kids, ages: 10&8
  • Has slideouts
  • Needs to run a generator

melody1's References (7)

References from Hosts (7)

AbbottFarms

July 2021

We have so many HH and BW guests this is a canned positive response. We only notice the exceptions

Friendly, no issues


Minkfamily

July 2021

New friends!

Really enjoyed their company! Great conversation and the boys were so respectful and polite! Looking forward to crossing paths again for sure!


Cimeronstar

June 2021

Lovely family

Enjoyed talking with Mom and the boys were very well behaved, my dog loved playing with them.


NarrowGateFarm

June 2021

Wonderful Boondockers

Quiet, courteous, and respectful. We enjoyed being their host. Looking forward to our paths crossing again one day.


JoeToriello

April 2021

Great family

Enjoyed spending time with them. Picked up helpful hints for the potato garden and how to chase voles away from our vegetables. Thanks Melody! We are dog lovers and enjoyed both their dogs and all their energy.
Welcome at our place anytime!


Pfisterville

April 2021

4 season road trippers

Great family. We feel lucky they choose to stay at our property even though they were close to their house. I feel we made new friends. I hope we are able see each other again. They are more than welcomed to stay at our house again. Til next time!!


stonebird

April 2021

Nice Family!

Melody1 and her family stayed just a quick night, were respectful, friendly and communicated perfectly. Great boondockers!