Introducing our new new Host Rewards Program! Read more here.

Sunflower5

Age: 45-55

Member since March 2021

Small business owners & nature lovers!

Active Guest

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

We own our own glassblowing business & studio in Kansas and travel to art shows across the country to sell our artwork. We enjoy being out in nature hiking, paddleboarding, swimming, kayaking, etc. and hope to spend a little more time seeking out those opportunities where we can! We travel with Cash & Henry, our two whippets.

We have three children ~ a son in college and two daughters who are angels. They both had profound special needs and passed away within 10 months of each other at ages 17 & 13 respectively, far outliving doctors’ prognoses of only surviving to age 1. We feel them near us most when we are out in nature, and we try to live our lives honoring who they were — the strongest, most magical, amazing, loving human beings we have ever known.

Skills & Expertise to Share

We are both former teachers — Scott used to teach Biology and Physical Science, and Gwen taught elementary school. Scott has been blowing glass since 1999, and Gwen helps out with the business doing bookkeeping, bills, gallery contacts, social media posting, emails, taxes, etc. We have vast experience raising two daughters with profound special needs. We love all animals and enjoy spending time in nature hiking, SUP, kayaking, beach time, etc.

Scott is very handy with projects, building, welding, art, etc. Gwen enjoys cooking, community projects (currently working on putting in a nature trail and dog park in our little town), and recently helped pass legislation to help those who are struggling in Kansas, in our daughters’ names (Claire & Lola’s Law). She also enjoys sharing about our special needs journey as well as grief journey on social media.

Sunflower5's Pets

We have two whippets ~ Cash is 8, and Henry is 3. If you don’t know what a whippet is, they look like smaller greyhounds. They are medium sized, about 40 lb. each. They’re very friendly and love people.

Favorite Boondocking Locations

Sedona, Arizona

Anywhere away from the hustle & bustle of life!

Sunflower5's Hometown

Benton, Kansas

Sunflower5's Guest Details

Sunflower5's Rig

Rig Type: Truck Camper

22 feet long

Dodge Ram 3500 with a Lance truck camper, pulling a 16’ enclosed trailer

Sunflower5's Travel Preferences

  • Has a tow vehicle
  • Travels with pets
  • Prefers an electric hookup
  • Has slideouts
  • Needs to run a generator

Sunflower5's References (1)

References from Hosts (1)

JMilligan44

May 2021

Intresting couple

Very interesting couple. Hopefully they will stop again in the future so we can become better acquainted.