itinerantguest

Age: 55-65

Member since April 2015

Retired, widowed, university professor RVing fulltime

Active Guest

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

I retired in June of 2014 after 30 years of being a university professor in electrical engineering. I began RVing fulltime in October of 2014 and have been loving every minute of it. My current goal is to see as much of North America as possible, with some overseas travel thrown in. In addition to great sightseeing, wilderness and urban, a great joy for me has been visiting friends and family all along my route. I take numerous photos everywhere I go and am always happy to share. I've been keeping a blog about my travels which you're welcome to read if you'd like to know more about my rig and where I've been: http://itinerantguest.blogspot.com

I have two daughters in their 20's, both living in San Diego, CA, which is my homebase. My wife passed away in 2012.

I'm something of a science and technology buff, and also a bit of a foodie.

Skills & Expertise to Share

I'm generally handy with tools inside and outside the house. Always happy to help with some project. Decent computer skills, but only on Macs. I taught courses in computer science, electrical engineering, and optics, and did research in artificial intelligence; I'm happy to expound on any of those topics.

Favorite Boondocking Locations

So far I've been all along the West Coast, the Southwest, the Southeast, and the East Coast. I've loved them all.

itinerantguest's Hometown

I lived in San Diego for 30 years. Before that, Atlanta, Houston, and Omaha.

itinerantguest's Guest Details

itinerantguest's Rig

My rig is based on a 24 foot Sprinter Van with the interior outfitted by Sportsmobile to my design. It was brand new and ready to go in October 2014.