GlobalSilvers

Age: None

Member since April 2015

Worldschooling Family currently traveling US and Canada. We love meeting adventurous, positive people and enjoying good food and fun conversation when possible!

Expired Guest

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

We are a kind, friendly family from Marin County, California (near Napa Valley). My husband and I have been happily married almost 20 years, though we have a 24 year age gap (he is 62, I am 38). We have four beautiful children, though only 3 travel with us as his oldest is officially an adult. :-)

We have also worked together for most of that time, as business consultants. I focus more on sales and marketing and start-ups, and he focuses more on operations, finance and technology. We were both in high tech during the Internet boom. We then got involved in real estate investing with our proceeds, and unfortunately got to take part in the real estate bust too, lol!

Last year my husband had a serious health crisis and it turned our lives upside down. We have decided to spend more time together as a family, exploring the world and educating our kids through real-world cultural experiences in addition to online classes, which we hope will be a better option for them than sitting at a desk all day. So, in October 2015 we sold 90% of our stuff, found a tenant for our home, and hit the road in a vintage RV which we've spent 6 months remodeling to feel like a home on wheels. You can follow our adventures at SilverLiningLife.com

Our plan is to RV through the US, Canada (my step-son lives in Montreal) and Mexico, and after that...who knows?! We can work from anywhere with a phone and internet connection, so it is more about finding those people and places that we enjoy.

We're looking forward to connecting with other RVers of ALL ages. Please don't rule us out because we have kids. They are very well behaved and respectful, and we WANT them to be exposed to different cultures and ways of thinking so they can learn. We also are great cooks, and if you're into visiting, we'd love to do that too. Or, just lend us your driveway and you won't even know we're there. Thanks for reading!

Skills & Expertise to Share

Computer skills, Sales & Business consultants, Great cook and knowledgeable about wine pairings, good conversationalist, Personal-Improvement Coach, Blogging,

Favorite Boondocking Locations

We are spending the spring heading up the East Coast of the US and Canada. We like to stay near the coast when possible. We are looking forward to exploring the Canada Maritimes on a tight budget so really need spots there, in Quebec City and in Montreal. We would like to be in Montreal much of the summer so anyone who has a longer term possibility (even if we have to pay for electric/water/etc. we're VERY interested! We only have a 30' C-class so we can fit anywhere. :-)

GlobalSilvers's Hometown

I grew up in Indiana and went to college in upstate New York. My hubby was born and raised in San Francisco and Marin County, near Pt. Reyes National Seashore. I moved to CA in 1995 so I count that as my hometown now too.

GlobalSilvers's Guest Details

GlobalSilvers's Rig

We are in a 30' C-Class. No slide-outs. No funky decorations. We don't currently have a generator, but are good with any old outlet and a hose, or nothing at all if it is short term, as we can provide our own water/propane/lighting for a few days a time.