Age: 65+

Member since March 2015

A decent man who tries to live by the golden rule.

Active Guest

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

I was born and raised in San Jose, Calif., joined the United States Navy in 1964 after high school, and proudly served aboard an aircraft carrier, the USS Princeton (LPH5), as an air traffic controller during the Vietnam War conflict. After my discharge in 1967 I worked a few odd jobs and in 1969 was hired as a deputy sheriff in Santa Clara County. Then thirty years passed by just like that and I retired in 1999, moved with my wife and two sons to San Diego which was her home town. I'm single now and soon to resume the unemployed ranks after I quit my job in the court security field and plan on traveling around the country in my motor home. I especially love being outdoors, riding motorcycles, enjoy people and BBQ's, but would rather starve than eat liver or lima beans... Well, that's it, there's more but this is enough.

Skills & Expertise to Share

Skills? Well, forty years in law enforcement has ingrained knowledge about security matters. I'm handy around the house fixing things, enjoy woodworking like many men, but never worked in the trades so have no expertise in those areas.

Goldwinger's Pets

I have two yorkies, Stuart Little and his wife Lillie. He's 8 and she's 6. They were gifts to me by a coworker whose wife used them for breeding but her failing health forced her to stop this practice. They go everywhere I go, great company and they never talk back.

Favorite Boondocking Locations

This trip is my inaugural trip so don't have any "favorites" yet.

Goldwinger's Hometown

San Jose Calif., about 50 miles south of San Francisco. Currently (11/17) I'm in the process of selling my place and relocating to Nevada, probably Gardnerville area. I've had enough of California.


Escapees Member
FMCA Member

Goldwinger's Guest Details

Goldwinger's Rig

Rig Type: Class A

40 feet long

I drive a 40 foot 2004 Fleetwood Revolution with two slideouts on the drivers side, it has a hydraulic motorcycle lift on the back that carries a Honda Goldwing, and I tow a 1988 Suzuki Samurai.

Goldwinger's Travel Preferences

  • Has a tow vehicle
  • Travels with pets
  • Has slideouts
  • Needs to run a generator