Meet new friends responsibly. Learn about our COVID-19 safety guidelines here.

Full-Timer+Snowbird

Age: 65+

Member since July 2020

Retired CT State employee. Moved to Florida. Wife passed away. Full-time RVer.

Active Guest

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

I am a 73 year old male. As a child most of my classmates wanted to be either a fireman
or a policeman. I wanted to be a forest ranger so that I could play with the animals of the
forest and show them to people, how they live in their natural environment. I always had
a longing for nature and kept a lot of wild and domesticated pets in my room as a child.
When I grew up I got a job working for the State of Connecticut Department of Mental
Health and Addiction Services (Assertive Treatment Team) helping clients in the community
that have mental illness and substance abuse, take their medications, find them living
situations, jobs, and even visiting them in jail when they got into trouble. I would like to
think I saved some lives.
I retired from the State of Connecticut with a pension after 25 years. I had married a home
town girl (see Home Town section), had a home in Connecticut and a RV lot and motorhome
in Florida. My wife died on a plane flight back to Connecticut three years ago, in which I
decided to sell our home in Connecticut and become a full-time RVer. I love the less taxes
I now pay, no yard work or mowing of lawns, visiting new places and seeing what’s over
the hill. I also camp in forest areas, getting back to nature and its beauty, making me feel
like my childhood dream of being a forest ranger.
Florida is sort of a bad word right now when you mention it to campground owners up North.
However my camper van is self-contained, and before I had left Florida in April, 4 months ago,
I was concerned about the pandemic and had stocked 2 months of food and water for myself and my cat, Chloe. I also stored masks and sanitizing supplies.
While being on the road and staying at campgrounds for 4 months, other than getting diesel at gas stations, I have been voluntarily quarantining myself, in my “home on wheels”, and metal
detecting alone (social distancing) in wooded areas. At campgrounds in New Hampshire, I signed waiver forms attesting to this fact. At my age, I do not want the chance of catching the virus.

Skills & Expertise to Share

I have a lot of RV knowledge and have read up a lot on boondocking, solar panels, etc.

Full-Timer+Snowbird's Pets

Yes. One rescue cat from Florida. Chloe is her name.
She is a gray and white medium hair.
Afraid of dogs, curious about people but will sometimes hide.
She does not go outside the van.

Favorite Boondocking Locations

Haven't tried BLM lands yet but I have done research on them and visited Quartzite, Arizona once,
but it was summertime and too hot there.
I love the forests and moutainous areas in the summer as I like to do my hobby of metal detecting outdoors when
the temperature is cool.
Don't like shoveling snow or slipping on ice as I have already done that living in Connecticut most of my life.
I like to vist the southern states during the winter. My Escapees RV Club domicile is Florida and I usally go there
for the winter time.

Full-Timer+Snowbird's Hometown

Born and raised in Connecticut. Married a home town girl. We both worked for the State of Connecticut Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services. My wife worked in Middletown, CT where I worked in Hartford, CT, helping dual-diagnosed clients (mental illness and substance abuse). Both retired with a CT State pension. Spent winters in our motorhome in Florida and spring at our house in Connecticut. Wife died 3 years ago on plane flight back to Connecticut. Sold house in Connecticut, moved to Florida. Later downsized from motorhome to Roadtrek camper van and each Sprint traveled. My son lives and works at a campground in California in the mountains for kids that have disabilities and I sometimes travel to see him. Love to travel and see what is over the next hill. I also have a hobby of metal detecting. Florida gets too hot and humid in the summer so I like to travel to mountainous areas during the summertime then back South for the winter.

Memberships

Escapees Member

Full-Timer+Snowbird's Guest Details

Full-Timer+Snowbird's Rig

Rig Type: Class B

22 feet long

2014 Roadtrek (MB Sprinter 3500) RS-Adventurous camper van. self-contained with bedroom, kitchen, bathroom, shower, fresh water, black & gray water tanks). 4 solar panels on roof for 12 volt lighting and refrigerator (however will not run A/C or microwave). No tow vehicle. Attached electric bicycle.

Full-Timer+Snowbird's Travel Preferences

  • Travels with pets