Age: 30-45

Member since April 2014

We are Laguan with the wind! Family of 3 on an epic adventure across Canada...

Expired Guest

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

After having an epiphany of sorts a couple years ago, we realised that we were juggling too much in our lives.
We have decided to make the move to live simpler lives. Lives that allow us to spend the most time together, since that is when we are the happiest.

We have happily parted ways with most of our belongings, I quit my job of 7 years in healthcare and we left the city of Toronto, as of April. It was time to move on and do this thing they call " livin' "... and so, the adventure begins...

We decided to involve travelling in our life by roaming to a new place every week or so and go where the wind takes us. We have found 11 families so far (more currently in the works), willing to take us into their homes & farms, in exchange for our manpower they have agreed to feed us and give us accommodation (if we tire of our attached tent-minivan set up). Currently, we are staying with my folks in Chatham, while Oscar works odd jobs, while we get organised and spend time with my family.

I have an extensive hospitality background, since I was 24 years of age. I have lived in Scotland, England, the Yukon and Toronto. I have managed inns, worked as live in management, been involved in hospitality extensively. I can provide many references both from my hospital employment and from my hospitality background. I also had a small catering business on the side for extra $ and my husband and I are both musical (him- actually playing instruments, me - djing and record collecting). Oscar has worked in construction, labouring, kitchens, food prep and such, wherever help was needed.

We live simply, we don't require much - we are all about nature hikes, sitting in the sun with a picnic and we don't really spend much money. As i said before, this is about us being able to adventure - meet new people, explore a new place and then move along.

I'm not all that great with words at the moment, but we are just a great family, with lots of friends and support, many of which know that we a lot to offer!

We are only looking for a night or two between the farms we are staying on, across this great land. We are trying to keep car travel to a minimum between stops for Molly's sake & so that we can simply meet others and enjoy this journey.

We could skpe with you if you are interested in meeting us!

Thanks so much for reading this and thanks in advance for your time and consideration!
Best, Cecilia

Skills & Expertise to Share

I can cook! Oscar can play guitar & bass, as well piano.... we are also up for helping you with any sort of task you need an extra pair of hands with, like we mentioned above, this journey is about helping others and learning, so let us help you with something that needs to be done!

Favorite Boondocking Locations

Only time will tell!

laguanwiththewind's Hometown

Chatham & Toronto

laguanwiththewind's Guest Details

laguanwiththewind's Rig

a 2007 Dodge Grand Caravan Stow n' Go with a Napier 84000 tent that fits onto the back. Our beds are in the back of the van. we have solar rope lights which light us up at night inside the tent.

laguanwiththewind's References (1)

References from Hosts (1)


September 2014

Great little family

We had Molly, Cecilia and Oscar staying with us for a couple days. We enjoyed their company, not overbearing . In no time ,we were good friends. We will be happy to meet them again. Audrey and Camille