Meet new friends responsibly. Learn about our COVID-19 safety guidelines here.

theamators

Age: 45-55

Member since October 2019

Husband, Father, Entrepreneur, Fulltime Traveler

Active Guest

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

Hi,
I'm Scott. My wife, Traci, and our 2 kids, Evelyn and Jack, are traveling around the US for a year in our new-to-us 2017 23' Outdoors RV travel trailer, towed by a 3500 Chevy van. Our goal for the year is to connect as a family, see as many national parks as possible and explore the US. We lived overseas for 6 years, mainly in Turkey and Colombia. Now we're home and we're really enjoying being here.

I was in the Army Special Operations. My wife was a diplomat. Now we run The Family Offsite, a program that we designed and run that teaches parents how to use modified high performance team building strategies to strength their family bond.

Skills & Expertise to Share

I'm skilled at email marketing and a run a small side business sending affiliate offers to my email list.

theamators's Pets

We have 1 pet, Boston. He's a 9-year-old, 10 lb Maltese. He was named when we were homesick. The only think he dislikes more than traveling, is being away from us. He's a good dog who doesn't stray very far from his people and he's generally afraid of his own shadow. He smiles when he's happy.

Favorite Boondocking Locations

The Wall, South Dakota - our first and still favorite boondocking spot. It overlooks the Badlands and we were inspected by a herd of wild mountain goats. Also, west Glacier just outside the National Park is a nice little spot with coverage. We stayed there 10 days. There are too many to choose just 1 in Moab, UT. Nearby Goblin State Park (also in UT) is one of our all time favorite surprises and there's a decent, large parking lot just outside it that isn't anything special but it facilitates access to the remote park.

theamators's Hometown

We're one of those families who doesn't really have a hometown. We travel fulltime. If pressed, we have 2 answers. We get our mail and vote in Livingston, Texas. However, we aren't in the state very often and we don't have an accent or a fancy hat. We do Christmas every year at Grandmom's house in Turner, Maine (where Traci grew up). Turner is about 45 minutes from Portland, Maine (the only city that most people have heard of in Maine).

Memberships

Escapees Member
FMCA Member

theamators's Guest Details

theamators's Rig

Rig Type: Travel Trailer

23 feet long

We have a 2017 Outdoors RV 23 BKS Travel Trailer. The tow vehicle is a 2016 Chevy 3500 Passenger Van.

theamators's Travel Preferences

  • Has a tow vehicle
  • Travels with pets
  • Travels with kids, ages: 6 & 4
  • Has slideouts

theamators's References (1)

References from Hosts (1)

scmecheng

October 2019

Enjoyed hosting Scott and Traci very much!

This is a really nice family! Enjoyed being able to host them for a few days. They have a nice set up with the large van towing their travel trailer. They are welcome back anytime they choose. I have a feeling they will prefer the warmer weather in the summer around here. Last night we got down to 14 deg F! Tonight supposed to be 6-8 deg!. Afternoons are warm though. They departed today looking for warmer parts to the south. Safe travels!