Introducing our new new Host Rewards Program! Read more here.

Salehound1968

Age: 45-55

Member since October 2019

Country girl at heart looking to escape the big city.

Active Guest

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

I am single and all of my children are grown and out of the house. I decided that I wanted to travel while I was young enough to enjoy it; so I sold my house and hit the road. I still work full time and own and operate a judgment enforcement business out of Nebraska. It's really not that exciting, it's mainly pushing papers. As long as I have wifi or a cell signal, I can run my business remotely from my rig. I do spend a lot of time during the day in my rig because I am working.

I love the smell of a campfire and prefer the sound of crickets over the sounds of the city. There is nothing like the crisp morning air and watching the sunrise or sitting on the dock and dipping your toes in the water. At this point in my life, I'm tired of the hustle and bustle and want to live a quiet, laid back life.

Skills & Expertise to Share

I know how to ride horses and have done some training with my horse (nothing spectacular, just for competition for fun in some local horse shows). I have also done some cattle sorting for fun with my horse, but neither one of us was very good at it. I also used to breed rabbits.

I have grown a garden and I am able to can garden vegetables, as well as blueberry and strawberry jams. I have also pressure canned meat, soups, and stews for winter.

Salehound1968's Pets

Yes, I have 3 dogs and 3 cats I travel with and they all LOVE to travel. I have a yellow lab, and an senior dachshund and beagle. All the dogs are well behaved and are not barkers (unless someone comes up to the rig). They love to go for long walks, but then need to nap for several hours to recover. I usually take them on 3-4 long walks every day. I've found a worn out dog is a good dog. ;)

The three cats are also very well behaved. They love to look out the windows and watch the birds and wildlife. It's like HDTV set on National Geographic. They really enjoy sleeping in their cat tree or laying in front of the side door of the rig to watch birds.

Favorite Boondocking Locations

Anything quiet and secluded. Quiet countryside locations (Preferably with electric for now until I can get some solar panels on to run my laptop and printer). Love parking by a lake or in the shade of a forest with nice walking trails to take the dogs on.. So far I have only been to Nebraska, Iowa, and South Dakota, but would like to make it the all 48 of the continental United States.

Salehound1968's Hometown

Omaha, Nebraska, but my horse is boarded just over the state line in rural Iowa.

Salehound1968's Guest Details

Salehound1968's Rig

Rig Type: Class C

25 feet long

Retro 1988 Champion Telstar.

Salehound1968's Travel Preferences

  • Travels with pets
  • Prefers an electric hookup
  • Needs to run a generator

Salehound1968's References (1)

References from Hosts (1)

KSkodi

December 2019

Quiet guest

Salehound1968 arrived and setup without assistance.
After a short visit, they adjourned to the warmth of their RV to get some work done.
Well behaved dogs.
Welcome back again.