Juliet

Age: 65+

Member since December 2013

Retired librarian, female, currently single, with a travel itch, a love of books, wine, music and movies, and a great curiosity about 'what's out there'.

Expired Guest

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

I have been retired for 6 years, and recently acquired my first (and probably only) RV, a 22 ft. Rialta. I have four adult children and 2 grandchildren living up and down the Pacific Coast. I have cousins and friends in British Columbia, eastern Canada, and many parts of the US, which may explain part of my wish to travel. But having sold my house and become a full-timer in the Rialta, I don't think I need any other reason to move around, especially to new places. I used to own a motorcycle and still believe that is the ultimate way to see the world, but it's hard to live on one! Among my travel wishes are to visit many wineries up and down the Pacific region, and to see places where my ancestors once lived: the east coast of Maine, upstate New York, the corn fields of central Illinois, the small towns of 17th century Massachusetts, the settlements of southern Ontario, and what were once the big woods of Minnesota. I also have dear friends living in a small coastal town in Mexico: San Blas, Nayarit, with whom I hope to reconnect. I don't think of myself as a very gregarious person; I am rather shy with people I don't know, although I treasure the ones I call friends. Among my favorite writers are William Least Heat-Moon and Bill Bryson, whose seeing eyes and wry and often humorous commentary speak to my inner self. Like me, they tend to be solitary (not lonely) travelers.

Skills & Expertise to Share

Hmm, I know a socket wrench from a drill and can use both. I use a computer but wouldn't dream of programming or repairing one. And before I gave up cooking for wandering, was considered an almost fabulous cook by those who survived my hospitality.

Favorite Boondocking Locations

Too recent an rv-er to have any. I've been on the road about 2 months so far. However, I can heartily recommend the Wal-Mart option when you are stuck in a strange town (or even a familiar one) as I'm sure many of you already know.

Juliet's Hometown

Born and raised in Los Angeles, I have also lived in Canada, France, Scotland and England. Currently I use my son's Washington home as a mailing address, but am otherwise rootless.

Juliet's Guest Details

Juliet's Rig

My 2001 Rialta, for those of you who haven't met one, is a 22 ft. hybrid: VW engine and chassis, Winnebago cabin. Her name is Celeste (don't know why, it came to me in a dream). She has a tiny galley with 2 burner stove, no oven. A fold out table and extra armchair for meals and lounging, twin beds, and a compact pull-out bath with lavatory, marine toilet, and hand-shower. She has a generator, A/C, a thermostatically controlled furnace, and a temperamental TV antenna. She is sometimes considered a C-class, or a B+-class, depending on the descxriber. No slideouts and no cab-over bunk. Everyone who sees her wants her; you should hear my grandchildren on the subject, and one of my sons-in-law murmmers about her perfection as a fishing rig.