Meet new friends responsibly. Learn about our COVID-19 safety guidelines here.

CaptCurt+Co

Age: 55-65

Member since August 2019

Retired Fire Dept. Captain, Wife, and Adult Children

Active Guest

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

Our family hails from central Texas and therefore travels out of state as often as possible to escape the heat at home. Camping has been our favorite family pastime ever since our children were born because we like to hike, bike, and explore scenic places.

Skills & Expertise to Share

Husband Curt is a retired firefighter who has worked MANY part-time jobs over the years (residential painter, electrician, home inspector, exercise equipment assembler, etc.). He enjoys bicycling, riding motorcycles, and doing CrossFit.
Wife Linda is a retired homeschool and Sunday school teacher who likes to garden, crochet, and do other crafts.
Son Aaran is a seasonal employee working in the national parks who likes to go backpacking, mountain biking, and rock climbing.
Daughter Micah is a professional dog trainer who enjoys dogs, horses, and travel.
Our older son Ethan doesn't travel with us anymore because he is married now, serves in the military, and is currently stationed in Anchorage, Alaska.

CaptCurt+Co's Pets

My daughter has a well-trained, loveable mutt (mixed breed) who is certified as a therapy dog. She usually brings her dog Hollie along whenever she is able to take off work to join us on our travels. We assume that Hollie is part greyhound because she loves to run super fast but only for short distances; otherwise, she's a total couch potato and is very sweet around people.

We've recently added another rescue to our family...Little Bit is a small dog, though we're not sure what kind of mixture she is. She's generally very timid and quiet, but she acts just like a cattle dog, chasing and circling Hollie, whenever they run together.

Since we don't have any grandchildren yet, we really enjoy our furry grandkids!

Favorite Boondocking Locations

Dispersed camping near Walnut Canyon and the Arizona Trail in Flagstaff, AZ
Any wilderness setting near deserts, forests, rivers, or mountains

CaptCurt+Co's Hometown

Buda, TX (south end of Austin)

CaptCurt+Co's Guest Details

CaptCurt+Co's Rig

Rig Type: Fifth Wheel

29 feet long

We have a 2019 Forest River Flagstaff FW with 3 slide-outs and a bike rack in back. Rig measures 33 feet 10 inches long, but only extends 29 feet behind truck when hitched. We tow with a 2015 Dodge RAM dually which is almost 22 feet long.

CaptCurt+Co's Travel Preferences

  • Has a tow vehicle
  • Travels with pets
  • Prefers an electric hookup
  • Prefers a water hookup
  • Has slideouts
  • Needs to run a generator

CaptCurt+Co's References (8)

References from Hosts (8)

MARTYS

September 2020

Glad they liked it

So glad to be here, and we were happy to have them. Nice family.


KenBecky

June 2020

Very nice people.

Again, thought we had left a comment but if not. They were very nice people.


KenBecky

June 2020

Very nice people....

I apologize if I missed sending a reference for you, we thought we had done that. Very nice people....


JohnGreydanus

December 2019

short stay

We had a nice conversation. I was invited in their rig and shown around. That was nice! Gives me ideas when we get to the time in life when we hope to be on the road.


Angelatilford

November 2019

Some of our favorite guests

After a second visit, these lovely people are among our very vavorites!


KenBecky

October 2019

Very nice folks

Stayed an extra day due to weather. Drive carefully and good luck with the weather over the mountains!


KenBecky

October 2019

Very friendly couple

Another nice couple, so happy to have met them. If you have the chance to meet them do not pass it up! He actually bicycled to the top of Grand Mesa, unbelievable!!They are more than welcome here anytime and surely hope our paths cross again.


Angelatilford

September 2019

Nice folks!

Happy to have them anytime!