hadandlinds

Age: 30-45

Member since June 2019

Full-time family exploring the U.S.

Active Guest

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

We are a family of four taking a year off from "business as usual" to explore the United States and spend high quality time together adventuring as a family. Hadley is a high school science teacher and Lindsay works for our local school district on the instructional team. We met and married in college and went straight from college into teaching, after 17 years of marriage, 16 years in education and five years as parents to super busy, fun-loving kids we are hitting pause to reconnect to ourselves, each other and to discover more of the country beyond our beautiful mountain valley. We look forward to making lots of new friends.

Skills & Expertise to Share

We love to cook and to bike- Had was a former bike mechanic and it's a passion area for him. In general, the boys in our family love wheeled objects: we are traveling with five bikes, two scooters, three skateboards, and two hoverboards. We know a lot about education and child development, and Lindsay has spoken at national conferences on trauma-informed systems. Hadley is a former Eagle Scout and our boys are cub and boy scouts with lots of practical hands-on skills. Leander plays piano and Myker rides a unicycle. Hadley runs an agricultural biology program and has presented at the national green schools conference. He'd love to talk plants and gardens. Lindsay could edit your next article or speech. We are all avid readers ready to swap recommendations.

hadandlinds's Pets

We have a 25-pound Corgi-Golden mix, YuYu. He travels with us. He is very shy at first and will warm up to new dogs when he's off leash, but does not like to be approached, especially by big dogs, when he is on leash (he was attacked by a big dog when he was younger).

Favorite Boondocking Locations

We are brand-new to this!

hadandlinds's Hometown

We are from the small mountain town of Carbondale, Colorado which is between Glenwood Springs (think hot springs) and Aspen (think skiing) about three hours west of Denver. Lindsay grew up on the East Coast and Hadley grew up in Texas. Our sons were born in Haiti.

Memberships

FMCA Member

hadandlinds's Guest Details

hadandlinds's Rig

Rig Type: Class C

39 feet long

2015 Jayco Seneca Super C, towing a 2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

hadandlinds's Travel Preferences

  • Has a tow vehicle
  • Travels with pets
  • Travels with kids, ages: Our sons are 12 and 10
  • Prefers an electric hookup
  • Prefers a water hookup
  • Has slideouts
  • Needs to run a generator

hadandlinds's References (7)

References from Hosts (7)

lphickey

October 2019

Great family

They were here only a short time but our kids had a great time playing with their’s and we hope they come back for a longer stretch soon.


The-Spirit-Travelers

September 2019

Welcome again

Very nice couple! Quiet as a mouse! Would definitely host them again! Glad we got to meet them even if it was for only a short time.


nextdoor

August 2019

Great family!

Enjoyed this family very much. Would welcome them back any time they want to come.


Bill14729

August 2019

Not enough time

Good people there just wasn't much time to talk as we were all busy maybe the next time. Wish them safe travels.


Gina-Jim

August 2019

Fantastic family

I really enjoyed their stay here. I wish they could have stayed a bit longer. The boys were great. I did not get to see much of the dog because mine would bark everytime they saw him.

I would have them back even if I was not here I would welcome them to stay. I hope they enjoyed their stay here in the area as much as I love the area.
Enjoy your travels.


prairie farm

July 2019

Nice family

Wonderful, full of energy children. They enjoyed our large area to get out and run. To bad it rained, we didn’t get to visit much this morning. Would enjoy seeing them again. Safe travels


piutedrive

July 2019

Fun Family

Hosting HadandLinds and their boys was a joy and a pleasure. Quiet and easy-going, all of them, including their delightful dog, YuYu. I can’t say enough about the boys: courteous, well-mannered, good-natured, curious, engaging, helpful, and willing. Characteristics they have clearly learned from their loving and patient parents. We hope to stay in touch, and would welcome them back anytime.