Meet new friends responsibly. Learn about our COVID-19 safety guidelines here.

eddie1261

Age: 65+

Member since June 2019

Just an old man and his dog

Active Guest

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

Hello from Ohio. I am an old man who wants to travel more, but I own a house and have to pay the mortgage and all the bills that go with home ownership. This, $75 a night for hotel rooms is what keeps me here at home. However, I just bought a small 4x8 trailer that I have dubbed "my pull behind hotel room" and plan to start taking some 5-7 day trips, longer as I build it into what I want him to be. Slow and steady.

I am an Army veteran from the Vietnam era and proud to have served there. Since then, I have worked more jobs that SInatra sang about in "That's Life". I've been a salesman, a factory worker, a mailman, a musician, and an IT nerd. Now that I am retired I am back to musician and songwriter (locally in Northeast Ohio. Yes, Cleveland Rocks.) I should have my trailer within the next week (I have a hitch sitting in my garage that needs to be installed) and have started buying stuff to outfit it for these short 5-7 day trips I plan to take as I start out. I have never been a "camper", and this is really more for a place to sleep than anything. It's just me and my old, blind, almost deaf and somewhat debilitated (arthritis in her back) dog, and it's time to visit some places so I can see new sights and she can smell new smells. Anxious to get things going so by winter, when it's -10 here and I get the urge to chase warmer weather I know better what I'm doing! The last time I did anything resembling camping there were mortars flying over my head, so.....

Skills & Expertise to Share

I am an IT wizard, and for enjoyment I write music and play in a band. I play guitar, sax, and keyboards. I also sing and write sad songs about all the women who have dumped me over 68 years.

eddie1261's Pets

I have an amazingly courageous 13 year old Schnauzer and Jack Russell mix named Scruff. She is truly the light of my life. Just for a point of reference, I have been married 3 times. The longest lasted 7 years. I have had Scruff for over 123. Draw your own conclusions there. She never leaves my side, so yes, she will travel with me.

Favorite Boondocking Locations

I have not yet been out there, and as I equip my trailer correctly, I will be exploring. Solar panels and all the companion hardware is at the top of the list.

eddie1261's Hometown

I was born in Cleveland Ohio (Go Browns!) and currently live 40 miles south of there in Akron.

eddie1261's Guest Details

eddie1261's Rig

Rig Type: Travel Trailer

11 feet long

I tow a small, extremely light trailer with a Jeep Renegade.

eddie1261's Travel Preferences

  • Has a tow vehicle
  • Travels with pets