Meet new friends responsibly. Learn about our COVID-19 safety guidelines here.

DarbyR84

Age: 45-55

Member since April 2019

Enjoying the blessings in life

Host

Active Guest

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

I am a 54 year old ,single, Audible-ACX audiobook narrator; landlord; and missionary minister.
I have one son, (who is the beat in my heart๐Ÿ˜) and an IT Programmer , who is married to my beautiful daughter-in-law (an elementary teacher) for 4 yrs.

I am a quiet, non-smoking, vegetarian, with no pets currently; who enjoys nature; interior designing and the arts ; working on cars ( the good old heavy metal kind๐Ÿ˜); finding wine tastings; working with my hands (addicted to tiling,lol.. also do my own plumbing and electrical.. being a landlord gives you an instant education in these๐Ÿ˜); and Sports.. swimming, biking,ice skating, volleyball, & beginner triathlete ..(also love my Astros, Orioles, Vikings, Dolphins, Rockets, Duke, and Penguins!)
Also have a Honda "Rebel-without-a-cause" Cruiser.

A hippie-gypsy at heart-I have traveled to many places world wide, and being a missionary minister, have met the most amazing and beautiful people.
My faith is Christian based, although I don't believe in titles. "My politics are tolerance, and my Faith is love." I accept all people, and I am here to enjoy all that I have been blessed with.

Skills & Expertise to Share

Certified : CPR/BLS ; NYTA : MOA :MT :Audiobook Narrator : minister /DD (minor in Biblical archeology/Ancient biblical languages)

Through the years, I have had the opportunity to travel and move frequently, which has allowed me to obtain many wonderful experiences and skills through my jobs..(my dad always said I was a "jack of all trades ,master of none".๐Ÿ˜

I have been a medical transcriptionist, office manager, elementary teacher, 'heavy metal' car mechanic, purchasing agent, veterinarian office manager and assistant, physical trainer; waitress / bartender; constructor of mainframe computers (waaaay back in the late '80s when they were the size of refrigerators at IBM ๐Ÿ˜..) ; to being self-employed , as an owner of an Errand Service (which assists the elderly and the disabled);
Currently a Landlord for 17 years, and a Narrator for Audiobooks and Commercial Voice Overs (hence the pen name 'Darby Reed')

DarbyR84's Pets

No

Favorite Boondocking Locations

Just starting out, so haven't formulated that complete list yet..
..although Love:๐Ÿ’™
Coastline Maine; Cape Cod Mass; and The Florida Keys...loved Mt Charleston area when I was in Nevada (a wonderful mix and contrast of the desert and the green pine mountains all in one)

..in search of the perfect sunrise/sunset ๐Ÿ˜

DarbyR84's Hometown

My current residence is in Upstate New York, nestled in the Catskill Mountains. it is a beautiful farm-filled area, with many amazing fields, mountains, and lakes. I have lived in other cities such as Las Vegas (when I went to college at UNLV), and in Wappingers Falls/Poughkeepsie/ New Paltz area of New York ,when I worked for IBM.) I also lived in Australia and discovered the amazing beauty of that country -from Brisbane to Port Augusta to Coober Pedy and Alice Springs.. over 8000 Miles of beautiful lush grasslands, and the stunning deep red soils of their deserts and Outback.

Memberships

RVillage Member
Escapees Member

DarbyR84's Guest Details

DarbyR84's Rig

Rig Type: Class C

22 feet long

โ€œSkoolie" , 2007 Ford Thomas E450 deisel mini bus that has been legally converted and titled into a motorhome. It is about 22 ft in length, 9'7" height, and can be completely self-contained for usage. I have built an onboard kitchen facility with propane/butane burners , sink, mini-frig/freezer; office area, bath area with shower/minitub; toilet ; bed/couch, 2nd overhead bed, mini closet/ dresser, mini propane fireplace, up to 25 gal of h2o storage. Contains both propane and small electrical heaters. Contains alternative off the grid DC battery and solar power usage. Contains hook-ups available for water and 15A electrical use. Currently no item in tow. Have small gas generator, but rarely use it.

DarbyR84's Travel Preferences

  • Prefers an electric hookup

DarbyR84 Has 1 Host Location

HeartofSchoharieCounty

Cobleskill, NY, US
See Details

DarbyR84's References (5)

References from Hosts (1)

Connecticut-2017

July 2020

Great Guests

Welcomed back anytime. Nice couple. God bless you and your travels.


References from Guests (4)

Gypsygirl.

May 2020

Got a new friend

My host is definitely a new friend. We got along so good and she and I were singles girls fixing things. It was very satisfying. We had lots of great conversations. Very much in common. Will definitely stay in touch. And, the property is so beautiful with multiple spots to pick from. She is so sweet and accommodating, offering such cute little amenities in her cute little shed. I highly recommend this amazing host for a relaxing visit.


pfradette

October 2019

Super

Great host! Thank you so much


Mili

October 2019

Perfect

Host was very helpful and kind. A lot of space on the grass in a beautiful scenery in fall. Lovely person


KevinAndSharon

August 2019

Wish we had more time to visit

A short but lovely stay in Cobleskill, wish we could visit longer with our wonderful host.