Donna R

Age: 65+

Member since April 2012

Mature gypsy couple with dreams of 6 months travel and 6 months gardening

Host

Active Guest

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

We currently live in Halifax NS, but spend 6 warmish months back and forth to our rustic cottage and fabulous garden in Prince Edward Island.( where my partner is a self willing workaholic.....hence the fabulous garden!)

Our future holds a more gypsy lifestyle..... planning 6 months in PEI and 6 months wandering North America and Mexico.

Three years ago I drove 4 months camping, 10,000 miles, across the USA by myself to see if I could!
NO problem for this gypsy lady! Ready to go again at the drop of a hat.

But it is way more fun traveling together!

Skills & Expertise to Share

My love of cooking is only surpassed by my love of travelling.
Exploring Vegan cooking way of life these days after being vegetarian for 30 years.

My partner can just about do anything... from cooking to electrical to carpentry to gardening.
I really, really appreciate his skills.................and he really enjoys my weird but very healthy meals.

Favorite Boondocking Locations

I don't believe we have ever traveled to a place we didn't like, in some way.
That being said, the easiest places to boondock seems to be in the southwest US. The most difficult, although not impossible, is the north east coast USA and eastern Canada.
Boondocking becomes easier with practice and fuels the self relience gene in all of us!

Donna R's Hometown

We live in Halifax during the winter with no real parking spots for boondockers. However we can offer loads of info on the city , the province of Nova Scotia as well as some info on the Atlantic provinces generally. Most of the summer between May and November, we are back and forth to our (currently under construction trying to upgrade) rustic cottage on Prince Edward Island. There is space there for one travel van of no more than 22 feet in length out by the flowers and garlic beds. No generaters or campfires please.

Donna R's Guest Details

Donna R's Rig

We have several rigs. All are small or very small. Some might question our sanity. I drove across the US in a 19 foot Coach house van and loved the fact I could drive, cook and sleep in the same space. It has a painting in it of a bowl full of cherries......says it all. We also love and admire all the small fiber glass trailers. We have 3 of those due to lucky purchases.........13 foot trillium trailer, 15 foot trillium trailer and a 17 foot Bigfoot trailer that is now our guest cottage. We really only use the 15 footer as it is comfy, efficient and sufficient for a 6 month trip....and we can drive ANYWHERE with it. For us.....small is beautiful.

Donna R Has 1 Host Location

Donna R's Host Location

nearish Charlottown PEI (Rocky Point), PE, CA
See Details

Donna R's References (1)

References from Guests (1)

patricia

June 2016

Great place,lovely hosts

Superbe place près de Charlottetown,PEI. Accueil charmant, les hôtes sont très agréables et donnent plein de bonnes informations, nous avions un espace très grand et â quelques minutes de la mer. Jardins magnifiques. Great place with gardens, large Space, beautifull area . Hosts are charming, very welcoming.