simplylesa

Age: 45-55

Member since August 2012

Simply traveling grandmother, blogger, friendly simple soul!

Expired Guest

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

I've been traveling for many years, often trying on cities or housesitting for a few months to try on a lifestyle or explore a place. A year ago I became a full time rver in my Simply Van and have been traveling the US and now Canada as well.

Skills & Expertise to Share

Cooking! I love stoves, fires, heat source stuff - make a mean campfire pizza! Love rustic simple foods.
I sew - mostly prefer handsewing tho it's time consuming. I knit - mostly mittens - learning to make socks (they are more useful everywhere)
I'm a good small space designer - handy with tools - and a bit independant
I blog, write and used to work with computers---(tho I don't need the pressure of a real job)
I am a minimalist.
I am pretty good at encouraging others to get old organizing and cleaning projects started. (Currently helping a friend unload a stuffed utility trailer and make decisions about donating some items in a comfortable way)
I make good cowboy coffee - according to people who have camped with me!

Favorite Boondocking Locations

Fortuna Pond, Yuma, AZ; MitryLake, Yuma, AZ area; Quartsite, AZ; Rye, AZ'; Payson, AZ; WalMarts; Wegman's Grocery Stores; National Forests; Mercer Park, B'ville, NY; Arkansas, East Coast - Virginia, New York, St Lawrence Seaway area of Canada...etc

simplylesa's Guest Details

simplylesa's Rig

1994 Chevy G20 Conversion Passenger Sport Van --- regular size with a regular roof height (No high top) My Van has a shore power plug on the rear which allows me to plug in with an extention cord. Because I usually live a minimalist and low-tech lifestyle I rarely use electricty. My daily electric needs can be met by running my engine or driving a short distance to charge my cell phone and tablet. My Van looks like a normal daily driver, with original shades my picture windows are covered, a curtain blocks off the back door windows. My windshield has shades installed and i have both magnetic curtains for the driver and passenger doors as well as a behind the drivers and passenger seat curtain that can separate the cockpit from the living area. I am self contained with a flushing portable toilet, a chuckbox style kitchen that can be used inside or out. I use a number of stoves - alcohol, esbit, a kelly kettle, a charcol grill or open fire where appropriate. I have insulated baskets for fresh food and produce storage and occasionally use ice or an frozen ice pack for special occasion foods. My shower is a hikers Sea to Summit Pocket Shower - and I carry a Texsport shower surround. For extra shade I currently carry a Shade Umbrella.