freewheeler

Age: 65+

Member since April 2012

A retired woman who loves outdoor activities.

Host

Active Guest

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

I grew up in Arkansas. Lived in Manhatten, New York, Greenwich, Ct, Los Angeles, CA and Seattle WA before moving back in Arkansas in 1984.
I have been an English and ESL teacher, a stewardess. I have sold real estate, commodity options and employee benefit plans. I have been a tv news camera lady, a newspaper reporter and election coordinator and a few other things.

Now I spend my time planting native plants, hiking, kayaking, bicycling, sailing and camping. I have a boat up at our sailing club on Beaver Lake.

I live in a college town on the foothills of the Ozarks.

Skills & Expertise to Share

I like to cook, read, go to local events, dance, walk, hike, bike, backpack, kayak and sail.

freewheeler's Pets

Yes, a 2-year old short, long dog with long brown and black (faded) spots on the white main color. (from the shelter, obviously).
He loves everybody: people, including children, dogs and cats. I keep him in bounds and off the driveway so on one has to interact with him unless they want to.

He has gone on a couple of long trips with me and mostly sleeps when I'm not with him.

Favorite Boondocking Locations

I haven't boondocked much. Have parked in front of a vacant house in Boulder, Co. and at end of a forest road when a tree was across it.

freewheeler's Hometown

I live in Fayetteville, Arkansas, a college town with population about 80,000. We are in the foothills of the Ozark mountains. A 35-mile paved bike trail starts here and winds through the towns north of us. Thirty minutes up the freeway is Crystal Bridges, a museum donated by Alice Walton of Walmart which houses some of the best American art in the country. Near here are hiking trails and the national scenic river, the Buffalo River.

freewheeler's Guest Details

freewheeler's Rig

Rig Type: Class B

19 feet long

1996 19' Airstream van

freewheeler's Travel Preferences

  • Travels with pets

freewheeler Has 1 Host Location

South Mountain

Fayettevillle, AR, US
See Details

freewheeler's References (3)

References from Guests (3)

TravelingTroubadours

April 2017

Lovely host, lovely spot!

We were warmly welcomed by our host at this lovely spot. The driveway was nice and level and in a very peaceful setting. As touring musicians, it was great to have such a quiet spot to stay for the night and our host was incredibly hospitable. Highly recommend this host, especially if you have a smaller rig (our is under 21 feet).


glrvers

April 2017

Quiet in town location

The site was level and located in a quiet residential location. Upon our arrival we were warmly greeted by our host. She made sure we were comfortably set up, then spent some time with us to exchange travel adventures. She was a very interesting host and we recommend her to anyone visiting this area.


shaliyahanalise

March 2016

Thank you!

We had made plans with freewheeler but, this being our first cross-country trip, we had totally overestimated how far we could get in one day. Though we didn't ended up staying in Fayetteville, we really appreciated everything freewheeler did for us and her understanding of our predicament. Hopefully we will run into her on our return trip!