joycesdogs

Age: 65+

Member since December 2018

Joyce, with Split and Mozart

Active Guest

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

I'm a fit and healthy retired Physical Therapist turned dog [People really] trainer for the last 23 years of my working life. I travel some, mostly to find good weather and at some point will likely settle into an intentional community of some sort. I like to garden and to find places where I can free run my dogs. I'm fully self contained in my short school bus conversion unless its grey and rainy for days on end and then I have a back up quiet generator I have as yet not used.
I'm a lefty learning to knit. Looking for the something to throw my passion at, environmental, green, fighting global warming, etc.

Skills & Expertise to Share

Dog [people] training, gardening, functional rehab as in how to set up your space to be the safest for you as you get older. I recently stayed on a farm on the mid CA coast and helped the farm owner with her failing 97yo father who was falling.

joycesdogs's Pets

I have Split an 8 yo Border Collie/Aussie mix [my best guess] I found on the streets at 7 months of age. She believes everyone on the planet was born so they could have the privlege of rubbing her belly. And her middle name is ME, ME, ME!
Mozart is a failed foster. Bit me 3 times before I figured out that he is the doggy version of autistic and has his limits with regard to being handled excessively. He is the smarter of the two with the best work ethic. They both compete with me in the sport of K9 Nose Work which I taught for 8+ years as a Certified Nose Work Instructor. If your curious I can tell you more, show you what they can do, or teach you how to get your own dog started.

Favorite Boondocking Locations

Anywhere that is sunny and not too populated. I'm new at this!

joycesdogs's Hometown

Portland OR/Vancouver WA area with 25 yrs in Seattle as well. Now I'm looking to be in the sun in the winter, in my home area in late spring and fall, maybe summer if it's not too hot. I live in my bus full time right now.

Memberships

Escapees Member

joycesdogs's Guest Details

joycesdogs's Rig

Rig Type: Class C

23 feet long

I drive a skoolie that is 23 feet long and remodeled and completely off grid with 700 watts of solar, shower, urine diverting/composting toilet. My toad is a 2013 honda Fit I have two well behaved and VERY WELL managed dogs that travel with me. If your a dog owner and want help with any behavior issues, I was a dog [people really] trainer for 23 years before retiring. I love the work and helping people so happy to help you!

joycesdogs's Travel Preferences

  • Has a tow vehicle
  • Travels with pets

joycesdogs's References (2)

References from Hosts (2)

Kevin and Julie

April 2019

Good guest!

Although we only had a chance to visit a shot time with joycesdogs they were considerate and courteous guests. Dogs were no problem at all. Always welcome back.


cjcanet

February 2019

Love the rig!

Joy stayed with us for a couple of days why volunteering in town. We hardly knew she was even there she was so quiet. She is awesome little school bus has been converted into an RV that is completely self-contained and has solar power!