Jlorne14

Age: 30-45

Member since February 2018

Family Oriented and Outdoor Enthusiast

Active Guest

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

We have travelled extensively internationally and now with the kids we plan to travel extensively nationally. Based out of Utah, we will take every opportunity to put our family in wide open spaces with views of heavens and earth uninterrupted by the modern world.

I grew up hunting, fishing and camping and look forward to doing the same with my children (and not just on video games, but actually getting wet, cold and muddy IRL). When we hunt or fish, we eat what we are rewarded with for our time and energy. We aren't trophy hunters, although we won't pass up any legal opportunity to bring home some meat and if that means it is a trophy, then so be it.

Skills & Expertise to Share

We are decently worldly I guess and have an opinion on most things (however, we do not believe our opinion needs to be yours and appreciate other's points of view). In fact, we thoroughly enjoy exploring other ways to look at any given topic and we have been known to (gasp) change our mind. If you try to nail us down as liberal or conservative you will get frustrated. We have certainly evolved in our perspective/standpoints over time from what we were taught by our teachers, parents, and religious leaders. We have a bad habit of forming our own opinions and do not take anything we read, hear or see in the news at face value.

I fancy myself a top-notch/handyman/sportsman/outdoorsman. I have been camping since I can remember, starting with tents and hammocks. At my wife's insistence we bought our first travel trailer (a Keystone Passport) in 2014 and have caught on to the glamping idea pretty quickly.

We both are self-admitted Oenophiles. Don't worry, it is not a rare disease nor a felony in most states lol. According to Wikipedia --the source of most of the world's knowledge-- it is "an affliction of the senses characterized by intense cravings for good food ... and vintage wines served in a tasteful, comfortable settings."

We are members of Good Sam and Harvest Hosts. My wife is a former military officer.

Jlorne14's Pets

Yes, we have a King Charles Cavalier Spaniel (about 25lbs). Ruby has never met a person she doesn't like. In fact, she has a little bit of an identity crisis; she thinks she is a person. More specifically she thinks she is a person that doesn't like dogs (she will generally do anything she can to stay away from them -- i.e. the opposite of aggressive...unless they are on TV). As far as cats go, she is rather ambivalent, she doesn't seem to mind them one way or the other.

Favorite Boondocking Locations

Not yet, but look forward to finding some.

Jlorne14's Hometown

I call North Central Arkansas home (Greer's Ferry Lake area). However, my Dad drove a tri-axel dump truck when I was young and we lived just about everywhere they built a by-pass from 1983-1996. The majority of asphalt was laid in Arkansas, with a few stints in Oklahoma and Texas. My wife grew up in North Western Florida (she calls is L.A. (Lower Alabama)). As of the summer of 2018 we will hang our hats in Utah, north of Salt Lake City.

Jlorne14's Guest Details

Jlorne14's Rig

Rig Type: Travel Trailer

30 feet long

Dutchmen Kodiak Ultimate 230RBSL pulled by a Chevrolet Colorado. http://www.dutchmen.com/kodiak/floorplans-and-pictures/floorplans-detail/?modelId=22935 30 Amp Average Shipping Weight (lbs.) 6,244 Dry Hitch Weight (lbs.) 752 Cargo Capacity (lbs.) 1,356 MEASUREMENTS Height 10' 10'' Length 33' 3'' (w/tongue) CAPACITIES Fresh Water Capacity (gals.) 52 Black Water Capacity (gals.) 28 Grey Water Capacity (gals.) 39

Jlorne14's Travel Preferences

  • Has a tow vehicle
  • Travels with pets
  • Travels with kids, ages: IMO this is TMI
  • Prefers an electric hookup
  • Prefers a water hookup
  • Has slideouts
  • Needs to run a generator