wilmaggie

Age: 65+

Member since February 2018

New to RVs and slightly overwhelmed.

Active Guest

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

I was born in Chicago and lived there until my mid 30s. Then I moved to Vermont. I currently live outside Kansas City, in Kansas. I moved here about 13 years ago to be close to my mom. She passed away 2 years ago. I am not fond of Kansas City - just too hot and no lakes or mountains close by - and intend to move within a year. However, I don't know where I want to be. I bought a Pleasure Way Ascent last year and I am still trying to figure out all the instructions and warnings! I want to travel as much as possible however, I am having a hard time deciding where to go and for how long. I have loads of books and information but I get easily overwhelmed with the choices. I figure that in my travels, I will find a town that I love and want to move to. Last year I traveled from Kansas City to Sacramento to visit relatives. Then I went to Kingman, Arizona to visit a friend and finally to Santa Theresa, New Mexico, just outside El Paso, to visit another friend. Lastly home via Dallas. I was surprised at how much I like the Southwest and thought if I lived near one of my friends, I could travel north during the really hot months. I am leaving for Vermont in two weeks and will stay on a friends land, on Lake Champlain, for a few weeks. I want to go to the Quartzsite area, this winter. I bought a few "how to paint in oil" lessons an intend to sit in the dessert and learn to paint.

Skills & Expertise to Share

I am just starting oil painting lessons. I dabble in jewelry making, do some sewing, have some minor home maintenance skills. It never seems that I have time to do arts/crafts when I am at home. So I am bringing my art supplies and sewing machine to Vermont.

Unfortunately, I am not very techy. There are so many other things I want to spend my doing. Therefore, I have decided to do the things I can and let the rest go.

wilmaggie's Pets

I have two dogs.Fannie Mae is a 13 year old dachshund. I adopted Dinah, unsure of breed, about 5 years ago and I think she is about 9. Both are rescues and are dearly loved. In fact, a good 85% of my decision to buy an RV was so I could travel with them. Unfortunately, they are not exactly pleased with my decision. They like the RV as long as it is not moving. Hopefully, they will get used to it. I stop quite often for them. I used to be concerned that it takes me so much longer to get somewhere in the RV with all the stops. But, I'm retired now so what's the rush? I say that but I am going to have to make a sign and put it on the dashboard to remind me.

Favorite Boondocking Locations

I haven't been to any as yet..

wilmaggie's Hometown

Roeland Park, Kansas. Not for too much longer though.

wilmaggie's Guest Details

wilmaggie's Rig

Rig Type: Class B

20 feet long

2017 Pleasure Way Ascent, 19 ft 7 in in length, 9 ft 5 in high

wilmaggie's Travel Preferences

  • Travels with pets