SantaFeBoonies

Age: 55-65

Member since December 2017

peripatetic cat herder

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

originally from Europe, traveled and lived in many different spots around the world, enjoy life very much as it is becoming shorter. Worked in a number of different fields, last 20 years as an artisan, I create with antique ethnic textiles and natural specimens, found objects etc. Good food, gorgeous nature, animals, movies, interesting discussions and the ever entertaining presence of my cats are some of the things I enjoy.

Skills & Expertise to Share

previous careers included cab driver, teacher, translator, interpreter, sales manager, attorney, artisan so maybe not an expert at anything but a fairly decent Jill of many trades.

SantaFeBoonies's Pets

2 indoor cats, (my neighborhood has coyotes, bobcats and all manner of critters who think anything under the size of a Rhodesian ridgeback might turn out to be a good snack) I travel with my cats and this summer we made it all the way from Texas to Whitehorse Yukon Territory.

Favorite Boondocking Locations

Lots of them but particularly along Route 60 from Socorro to ShowLow are some of my faves, others were some of the spots on this summers Canada trip.

SantaFeBoonies's Hometown

It used to be Austin, TX but from 2018 on it is Santa Fe, NM. I moved to Santa Fe for a number of reasons, not the least is it's gorgeous surrounding areas, the nice 4 seasons weather (Austin only has 2 and the second one only lasts 5 days) and the cultural/artistic offerings here.

Memberships

RVillage Member

SantaFeBoonies Has 1 Host Location

Santa Fe CoyoteHowl

Santa Fe, NM, US
See Details

SantaFeBoonies's References (7)

References from Guests (7)

morgan

May 2018

Thank you!

We appreciated our stay at Carola’s property. She met us when we arrived and gave us options of where to park. She was generous and we really enjoyed being among the trees. Thank you!!


Shuteforjoy

May 2018

Peaceful stay overlooking Santa Fe

Our host was great! We enjoyed getting to chat during pur stay, amd she gave greay recommendations for things to do. She had two places that would fit our RV, the one we chose was very easy to pull in/out. She was kind enough to let us hook up electric and water during our stay as well. Highly recommend this host location!


Dianden

May 2018

Short but sweet

Top spot if you’re visiting the Santa Fe area. Boondock is in a quiet rural area but with easy access to Las Vegas, Pecos NHP and downtown Santa Fe. It’s a pity we didn’t have longer with Carola, as she is a lot of fun and I’m sure we could have had a riot. During our chats, she did pass on many informed travel tips for the area. Thanks for your hospitality and the laughs. Hopefully we can meet again in the future.


basketball23

May 2018

Great. Host

Friendly, intelligent and interesting. Very easy going and helpful. I would recommend her highly.


basketball23

May 2018

great host. Constantly asking if I needed anything.

She is a very interesting women. She is also a treasure hunter like me. Nice home. Beautiful view. Would like to come back sometime
Highly recommend. Her.


Rolien

April 2018

Great place nice chat!

Carola is a great person to speak with. Beautiful house and a great place. The sunset is like a photo. Thank you for a warm welcome.


Sallyandbill

April 2018

Wonderful host and a fantastic stay

Thank you, Carola for your amazing hospitality. The hosts Home is approximately twenty five minutes from the plaza in Santa Fe and a very easy drive. The host location is fantastic, but it was the connection we made with our host that meant the world to us. We stayed three nights here and slept to the sound of coyotes at night. We felt like we made a new friend.