Age: 55-65

Member since November 2017

Artisan Forager

Active Guest

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

Single female, red-head. I recently lost my husband of many years and for the first time I am living on my own. I am a military dependent spouse which allows me to access some military retirement benefits.
I just finished my BA at Evergreen State College in Washington, with a focus on Women's studies, history and Botany.
I love to cook and run a small business foraging local and wild ingredients for specialty event meals.
I also teach judo and have been a long time student- I started in 1954. One of the things I like to do while traveling is to visit local clubs and get to know the people there. I am the United States Judo Federation Historian and in that role collect stories about the sport from the old-timers and everyone else.

Skills & Expertise to Share

Judo and self defense. Foraging and cooking with wild foods, canning and preserving foods, quilting and sewing.

cherylharai's Pets

I travel with 3 elderly dogs. Duke who is a yellow lab. he is about 75 lbs. very friendly and 15 years old. He sleeps much of the time. Lani is a female minpin who loves kids- although she is not around them very often. She is active for her age, which means in spurts. She has congestive heart failure which slows her down a lot. She is 13. Maggie is the third dog. She is a Silky Terrier Also very elderly and sleeps most of the time. She is blind and deaf. loves people, when she knows they are there.
All three dogs are walked and spend most of their time inside. They are all dog friendly, but not able to play much due to age.

Favorite Boondocking Locations

I am just starting this journey. Previous to this, I only traveled with my husband to scheduled friends properties. Now Im looking to see the country on my own and get to know more people

cherylharai's Hometown

I have spent the last 30 years or so living in Tacoma Washington. previously I also have lived in San Jose and North Dakota and Northern Minnesota.

cherylharai's Guest Details

cherylharai's Rig

Rig Type: Class A

36 feet long

Nice older class A Holiday Rambler Crown Imperial 36 feet with a side awning

cherylharai's Travel Preferences

  • Travels with pets
  • Prefers an electric hookup
  • Needs to run a generator