KJ_and_Brian

Age: Prefer not to say

Member since November 2017

Two adventure seekers headed west in search of new sights and fresh snow

Active Guest

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

My boyfriend and I are trading our mild North Carolina winters for the wild winters of the great American West. I have a ski pass linking ski mountains from New Mexico up to Canada and plenty in between. We are pulling an 18ft all-weather travel trailer that will be our home, indefinitely. It is equipped to dry camp for lengths at a time; electric or water hook-ups are not necessary, just an added bonus. Also joining our adventure is our all-white snow dog, Summit.

While I'm searching for fresh powder or mountain biking trails, my boyfriend tends to hunker down to read, write or cook. We enjoy hiking and exploring, seeing new sights, meeting new people or trying new things.

Although new to Boondocking, we have been very active in the Couchsurfing Community and feel very passionately about the spirit of home sharing and have had nothing but positive experiences opening our home and space to travelers across the world.

Skills & Expertise to Share

My boyfriend, is a very experienced and talented chef. Learning to cook in a camper and on a budget is his next big challenge. In the great outdoors or with animals is where I prefer to spend my time. I love sharing my love for the outdoors through camping, snowboarding, mountain biking or hiking. I also love working with animals or working outdoors. I'm always happy to do some heavy lifting or manual labor, as is my boyfriend.

KJ_and_Brian's Pets

Summit, our white shepherd/husky mix, is 6 years old. He's goes everywhere with us and is well adapted to travel. He is happy to spend all day romping in the snow and woods or snuggling in bed. He's very well trained and friendly with dogs, cats, kids, and livestock.

Favorite Boondocking Locations

We're new to cross country Boondocking but know of some amazing sites in Brevard, NC, near our hometown of Asheville. The sites are close to waterfalls, breathtaking lookouts and world class mountain biking trails!

KJ_and_Brian's Hometown

Asheville, North Carolina.

KJ_and_Brian's Guest Details

KJ_and_Brian's Rig

Rig Type: Travel Trailer

18 feet long

We live in a 2018 18ft travel trailer pulled by a Nissan Frontier. Including the tongue, the trailer is 21 ft long, 8 ft wide and 10 ft tall. We do not have slide outs and do not require hookups.

KJ_and_Brian's Travel Preferences

  • Has a tow vehicle
  • Travels with pets