Johnnybear

Age: 45-55

Member since September 2017

Teacher taking a break from the classroom to hit the open road and meet new people wherever my travels take me.

Expired Guest

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

Hello,

I'm a Florida-born and raised teacher who's taking a break from the classroom to do some traveling across this great country of ours. I rented out my home in Minneola/Clermont, Florida in September 2017, and am officially "on the road".

My sidekick is "Trixie", a super-sweet seven year-old whippet (smaller version of the greyhound) who has experienced quite a few road trips in her time, but nothing like this one. We're planning on slowly making our way from the east coast to the west coast, stopping to see family and friends along the way. First stop is North Carolina and the Raleigh area to see my nephew play trombone with the symphony orchestra he recently joined. From there it's on to Tennessee, Louisiana, and Texas. Hoping to be out west by winter time to spend a few months in southern Arizona and/or California. I am very much looking forward to seeing new places and meeting many new acquaintances along the way.

Skills & Expertise to Share

I was a fitness expert in my previous life, before I got into classroom teaching 15 years ago. Unfortunately, I have a herniated disc that has limited my activity as of late, but I still stay as active as I can. I am Certified teacher for FL in the areas of Biology and Physical Education, and have taught health classes and anatomy & physiology most recently.

Johnnybear's Pets

Dog named Trixie. She's a 30 pound whippet.

Favorite Boondocking Locations

I'm new to boondocking, but can't wait to try a little boondocking in the Quartzite area of Arizona.

Johnnybear's Hometown

Minneola, Florida (raised in Miami, but eventually escaped)

Johnnybear's Guest Details

Johnnybear's Rig

Rig Type: Class C

30 feet long

I have a 30-foot 1994 Thor Four Winds motorhome - class C. It's in decent shape for its age, although it's still a work in progress. No slide-outs or anything too unique. I'll be towing my 2008 Honda CRV behind it, four wheels down.

Johnnybear's Travel Preferences

  • Has a tow vehicle
  • Travels with pets
  • Prefers an electric hookup
  • Has slideouts

Johnnybear's References (2)

References from Hosts (2)

Ron+Jan

October 2017

Good Communication

It was a pleasure to host Johnny bear. Great communication, no complaints. Would be happy to host him again.


Big Mike

October 2017

Would be welcomed back

This is a very nice guy and his dog was fun to watch run around. I would welcomed them back.