Hydrogeo

Age: 65+

Member since July 2017

I'm a hydrogeologist/civil engineer. Mary Jo was a high school principal.

Active Guest

Do you know or have you hosted this user?

We both retired a several years ago and moved from the city to the country to enjoy a quieter more, relaxed lifestyle. My hobbies include raising fresh and saltwater fish and amateur astronomy. I have several telescopes that I am still learning to use and I have a small observatory with a decent telescope. I usually travel with a smaller telescope and binoculars. I collect rocks, minerals, fossils and meteorites. I keep busy working around the property and enjoy travelling by RV. Mary Jo has two horses that are boarded near our property and often at home in our paddocks during the summer. She used to ride in shows and competitions and now rides for recreation. She enjoys music, reading,and trying new recipes. Sometimes she knits. She loves singing and is president of her local chorus that does well in international competitions. We both enjoy the outdoors and camped in a small tent through the 70s and early 80s. We got our first C class in 1985 and have since had another C class, a large diesel pusher and a 5th wheel. We recently traded the 5th wheel on a new 32' Class C that was delivered in May 2019.
We enjoy swimming, hiking (in moderation) and sometimes travel with an inflatable kayak and a standup paddleboard.
We always travel with our dogs and do not go anywhere that they are not welcome. The dogs are always leashed and never run free. We are fairly new to boondocking and look forward to meeting hosts across the country.

Skills & Expertise to Share

I usually travel with a small telescope or binoculars and am learning about stargazing and astronomy. Mary Jo is a good cook and an enthusiastic singer and choir member. She is good with horses and dogs.

Hydrogeo's Pets

Two Great Pyrennes that we always travel with. Both big and friendly. The puppy is going to dog shows and doing well so far. Dogs are always on leash and always cleaned up after. Two horses that we never travel with. Many large koi and several marine fish and turtles that stay in large tanks in the basement.

Favorite Boondocking Locations

Fairly new to boondocking. Hope to travel to many areas of eastern and western Canada over the next few years. Favourite destinations in the U.S.A. used to be the Outer Banks in North Carolina, the Florida Keys and the southwestern states. We do not plan to travel to the U.S.A. again as long as Mr. Trump is in power but look forward to returning after he is gone.

Hydrogeo's Hometown

We live on a rural property near the small village of Mono, Ontario.

Memberships

RVillage Member
Escapees Member
FMCA Member

Hydrogeo's Guest Details

Hydrogeo's Rig

Rig Type: Class C

32 feet long

We drive a 2020 32 foot Forest River Forester 3011DS. We sometimes tow a Jeep Wrangler Unlimited. Rig is fully functional with the slides in but it is nice to be able to put them out, at least the small bedroom slide. Having access to water and 15 amp electric is a great bonus but is not required.

Hydrogeo's Travel Preferences

  • Has a tow vehicle
  • Travels with pets

Hydrogeo's References (1)

References from Hosts (1)

Campnuts

August 2017

Pleasant evening under the stars

Hydrogeo spent a few days with us last week. We both had busy schedules but found time to spend a pleasant evening chatting around the campfire and looking at the stars. They brought us some nice reading material on an area we were interested in - and thank you for the wine!